Hello again…

It has been 2 months since I’ve posted anything. I think that’s the longest I’ve gone without writing. I’ve thought a lot about it. I just haven’t done it. Are there topics to write about? Sure! But at the end of the school year, sometimes I just don’t have the energy to get ramped up about some of them.

There have been some poor court cases lately that will affect all of us: Teacher Tenure in California, the Hobby Lobby debacle. The attacks on teachers and the teaching profession are horrible, yet right now I lack the energy to write about them. Women’s issues and women’s rights are a huge issue for me. But I haven’t organized my thoughts and don’t know all of the details well enough to write about them.

I’ve done my usual strawberry picking and made jam in June. One clarifier though, my jam was made from berries that I had from the last round of picking. I needed to make room in my freezer for new fruit. I’ll be trying some other combinations in the future.

I’ve made my yearly trip to Motown and back. I’ve got two more trips lined up for the remainder of the summer – Spain and Colorado.

I suppose I usually have a class where I’m supposed to be journaling and I post about those adventures. Alas, I didn’t take a class this summer, so that’s not happening.

Do I have an excuse? Not really. I’m doing what every other teacher in the country does after school is out. Recovering. My stress levels are lower, I’m eating healthy and exercising. I’ve read lots of books, taken naps, cleaned my house, etc. Living life at a slower pace is nice for a change.

One Response to “Hello again…”

  1. dkzody Says:

    I totally hear you. Doggone it, a few weeks in summer is just not enough time to recuperate, refresh, revigorate, and get ready to go back and do it all over again. You certainly do cram a lot into your summers, though.


Leave a Reply

