Want to buy a carpet?

I didn’t know I wanted to buy a carpet until I saw this beauty. There’s something about the design that really caught my eye. But, I didn’t get this exact one. This one is made out of silk and is way out of my budget.

P1070846

Jaipur Handicrafts has a variety of textiles, including carpets. We were shown the process of how they make the rugs and then shown a wide variety of designs with varying quality. And here’s the caveat: the price includes shipping to you in the US.

The carpets are hand tied. If you’re wondering what that really means, here’s a video to see a man in action. I think he thought I was just taking a photo at first so he wasn’t going at his usual pace. After I say “go fast” he get’s down to business. You’ll notice that he’s got a pattern sitting before him and a tool to cut the thread after the tie has been made.

P1070838

Depending on the materials and size, one of these rugs can take up to a couple of years to complete. As an example, a 4×6 ft rug done in pashmina wool can be completed in about three months.

After the rug has been tied and completed, it is given a haircut. It seems to me that they just use an old shears to do the job. You can see the scissors on this carpet and the green fuzz that has been trimmed.

P1070839

After the trim job, they deal with the fine fibers that are on the back of the rug. It’s kind of like your arm hair – not a lot, but enough to make a difference. They use a blow torch to burn off the excess fibers on the back of the carpet. This makes it so the rug does not slide on your floor.

P1070840

The rugs that we were shown were made of silk, pashmina wool and camel-hair. The silk ones were the most expensive and you could really tell when you took your shoes off and walked on them. They were beautiful. Did I get one? Yep. The photo at the top is the design, but I’m having it made in pashmina wool, which is more in my price range. It will take three months to make and will be delivered in July. By then I’ll probably have forgotten all about it and it will be a nice surprise.

One Response to “Want to buy a carpet?”

  1. cheap Carpets edmonton Says:

    Hi every one, here every person is sharing such knowledge, therefore it’s pleasant to
    read this blog, and I used to go to see this blog daily.


Leave a Reply

