Can I handle it?

We had a few inches of snow last night. Twenty-five degrees feels pretty nice to me. Above freezing feels downright balmy. On Saturday I went shopping for skirts and wore ballet flats and capris. It was only around 40 degrees, if that. Today I realized that I got a “tan line” on my feet, from the ballet flats. In other words, I’m my pasty winter self that is accustomed to frigid cold. A week from tomorrow, I leave for India. What is the temperature there? 80s, 90s, even 100.

Besides the culture shock, I might go into temperature shock. Can I handle it? As I’ve gotten older, I’ve appreciated “cooler” weather. I really don’t need it to be super-duper hot. Seventies and low eighties are nice. But so much for nice. 90s is what I’m getting.

I will not complain. I’m way too excited about the trip to worry about the heat. I’ve decided to recycle my Tanzania wardrobe. I did go back to the Indian clothing store and got another skirt on Saturday. But it may be too nice to take with me. My friend that is living in Delhi mentioned something about going shopping for some Indian ensembles for me to wear during the week. I think the skirts will work well for the heat. But I’m curious about my other options that I can find while I’m there.

I did get my passport back on Friday with my brand new colorful Indian visa. I wasn’t expecting it until today. I’m much more relaxed, knowing that the visa is set and my passport is back in my hands. I’ve found a ride home from the airport, but now I need to find one to the airport. My parents are out-of-town, so my normal airport shuttle is out of service. I still need to pack. Since my feet will see the sun, I’ll get a pedicure before I go. I have an appointment with a travel nurse on Monday. So I guess things are shaping up nicely. A week from tomorrow, I’m off!

Leave a Reply

