Day #6

P1070578

10 inches of snow. Even here, that’s a lot. We’ve got great snow removal, but even the best have to err on the side of caution. I’ve been up since 5:20am. The robo call came while I was in the shower. The winds are ~40 mph, which makes it worse. Since I live in a ‘burb, my street looks pretty good. Since I live in a town home, my driveway was cleared overnight. My drive to work is only about 5 miles, but as soon as I get into the city, there is a noticeable difference in plowing.

It’s our sixth cancelled day this school year. This has never happened. Well, at least since I’ve been teaching in this district AND when my parents taught in this district, starting in 1967. It’s crazy. The polar vortex is supposed to come back for a visit next week, but hopefully it won’t be that bad.

So in the meantime, I brought enough stuff home last night to make sure I had stuff for the weekend. I corrected tests and had a pretty productive evening of planning and correcting. So for today, I’ll be glad to be warm and safe at home.

2 Responses to “Day #6”

  1. dkzody Says:

    Every time the news is on and they show your part of the country and all the snow, I wonder how you are managing. I just keep thinking you are used to this kind of weather. Guess this year is even too much for the natives. So, will you have to be in school longer this year?

    • certainabsurdity Says:

      So far they haven’t scheduled any make-up days. EVERYONE is sick of this weather. Even the die-hards. It won’t be warm enough to melt anything until the end of the week. At that point it looks better. But these single digits and negative temps are making me stir-crazy.


Leave a Reply

