Writing through Art at the Walker

P1060862

objects

random items

combing, curving, hanging

Fourteen objects hanging on white

nonsense

This was our Cinquain Poem about the above piece.

During my last visit to the Walker, I learned about writing these cinquain poems to help understand the art. I think it helps immensely. I probably wouldn’t have picked this piece to use as my example. But our group came up with something that seems to work.

The indoor portion of our Walker visit dealt with writing through art. The docent gave us lots of ideas about having students write about art in different ways. I think that when looking at contemporary art, activities like these are a must. As an adult, I have a hard time focussing and “figuring out” the art. But the writing seems to help a lot.

 

Leave a Reply

