So who is looking out for the “good” kids?

I’ve been thinking about this a lot lately. I don’t even know if I have my thoughts organized enough to write a post about it. But I’m going to give it a shot.

I don’t know if it’s just my situation or if it’s happening elsewhere. But we seem to spend so much time focussing on the kids at the bottom and the ones that are the huge behavior problems, the good kids just get left to fend for themselves. Who is looking out for sweet little Gao, who never requires an extra effort to teach? Who is looking out for Xee, who is always on time to class, participates and turns in her work on time? Who is looking out for Sunny, who would never hurt a fly, much less, get into a fight at school? Who is looking out for Mikayla, who is so sweet an innocent, she doesn’t even know what pot smells like?

Why is it that we focus on the bottom-feeders? Does it send a message to the “good” kids that it doesn’t pay to be good? The kids who are a pain in the ass get rewarded for NOT being as big of an asshole as they normally are. Hello? Who thought that up? You get a reward for being a little bit of an asshole instead of a huge one? C’mon. How do you deal with this as an ethical human being? The good kids just get ignored. There’s something “not right” about this.

I may be going out on a limb here. But you can’t say that bad behavior is a cultural thing. An asshole is an asshole no matter what color you are. Disrespect is disrespect. Don’t tell me that being disrespectful is okay in certain cultures. Being a jerk is not okay no matter what.

Is anyone else out there running into this problem?

2 Responses to “So who is looking out for the “good” kids?”

  1. emeraldlakesfreepress Says:

    Yes, yes yes! I spend so much time dealing with the little rats that the good kids are basically on their own. When I send the little rats to the guidance counselor for a “talkin’ to” they come back five minutes later with at “star card” (to spend at the school store)! If they are repeat offenders, they get a behavior plan and if they are only a little less awful, they get to go get a present from the guidance counselor’s treasure box at the end of the week. Ack. Ticks me off.

  2. Ann Says:

    As a parent of two “good” kids (both academically and behaviorally) I feel like I need to advocate for my kids. And we’ve been lucky to have great teachers who send thank you notes or slip “you’ve earned 10 bonus points on any quiz” notes to my kids when they’ve been good and everyone else was rotten.


Leave a Reply

