Another Christmas Beverage

P1060176

Ever had mulled wine? I tried it at a bar a few weeks ago and a friend suggested this Jamie Oliver recipe.

I made half a batch (one bottle of wine) to try it out. We liked it so much that I made another batch. I didn’t have a vanilla pod or star anise. But I did manage to get the rest of it. Making the syrup part is pretty easy. The photo above is of my rolling boil for 5 minutes. After the syrup is made, you add the rest of the wine and bring up its temperature.

P1060178

When you scoop it out, you do get to avoid various pieces of citrus fruit peel, cinnamon sticks, cloves and bay leaf. But it’s a really nice hot drink to have on a cool winter day. And if you’re not a big red wine drinker, this is a good way to use some of that red wine you have around the house.

Give it a try. It’s super easy and totally worth the effort!