Trying Something New…

P1060161

I’ve been in a food rut lately. I like to have something fixed on the weekend that can morph into lunches for the week. About a month ago, the title of a cookbook caught my eye. Fix-It and Forget-It, 5-ingredient favorites, Comforting Slow-Cooker Recipes, by Phyllis Pellman Good. I hadn’t had time to really sit down and go through the book until today. I did find a few recipes to try. “Reuben Casserole” was the first one.

Reuben Casserole

2 cups deli-style corned beef, torn into bite-sized pieces, divided

15-oz can sauerkraut, drained, divided

1/2 cup shredded Swiss cheese, divided

1/4 cup Thousand Island dressing, divided

4 cups dry packaged stuffing mix, divided

1. Spray slow cooker with non-stick cooking spray.

2. Layer half of each ingredient in the order listed.

3. Repeat layers.

4. Cover and cook on low 2-4 hours, until casserole is cooked through and cheese has melted.

I didn’t exactly measure the ingredients properly. But I think that’s fine. I got a pound of pastrami at the deli since it looked better than the corned beef. The stuffing mix was made by Pepperidge Farm and came in a 30 oz bag. I did measure the first layer for 2 cups worth of stuffing. I probably ended up with more Thousand Island dressing than 1/4 cup too. I just poured it from the bottle and spread it around with a spoon so that it was coated.

After all was said and done, I’d say it was fine. I’d probably use about half of the stuffing mix and keep the rest the same. I have a feeling it might be better on the next round.

Leave a Reply

