I know that I know you…

But I’m afraid I’ll say the wrong name. I actually have a guess of what your name is in the back of my mind. But I’ve had over 2500 students and the odds of me getting it right are getting smaller and smaller as the number of you gets bigger and bigger.

I remember that you were a good math student. You were enjoyable to have in class and joked around with me. You were a hockey player. I’m pretty sure your name is Ben, but I’m afraid to ask. I’m going swimming later today so I don’t have any make-up on and I’m not quite in the same aisle as you so I’m not sure if you recognize me. I’m not sure if you’d want to talk to me. So, I keep shopping and wracking my brain to figure out your name.

I go about the rest of my day, all the time, wrestling with who you are. Finally, after several hours, I dig out my old yearbooks and try to make a guess at how long ago you were in my class. Twelve years ago. It was even further back than my original guess. I had your name right. I know I had everything else that I remembered about your right too.

I should have said hello. Now I regret that I didn’t take the initiative. It looks like you turned out just fine. I’m always glad to see that. I just wish you knew that your teachers are always happy to see you succeed into adulthood.

So, dear reader, if you do see any of your former teachers, don’t be afraid to talk to them. They probably want to talk to you and find out what you’re doing. Always introduce yourself and don’t make them guess your name. Chances are they remember the important things about you and have many names floating around in their heads. We’re all getting older and when we’ve been teaching this long, we’ve had thousands of students. Give us a little help. It’s nice to see how you turned out!

Leave a Reply

