They Might Be Giants

I’m a total Olympic Junkie. I love watching the Olympics. It doesn’t matter if it’s the winter or summer games. I love to watch!

I was curious about some of the athletes so I was looking around the Yahoo Sports site. When you click on their names and it shows their date of birth, height, weight, age (they don’t make you do the math) and gender. Some of them have a picture too.  I was looking at the heights of the latest women’s swimming relay to win the gold. They’re all 6 feet tall or taller! You don’t think they’re that tall when they all stand together. Another example of this was the Women’s Eight (rowing) with Coxswain. Every single rower is 6 feet or taller except for one at 5’9″. Mary Whipple, the tiny coxswain is actually about my height!

One thing that is nice about the Olympics is that these women are all super fit and strong. They are not rail thin and air-brushed. It would be nice if girls got the idea in their heads that being fit is better than looking like the models.

Another comment… I totally love the spoilers. It’s so much less stressful to watch and know that the gymnasts don’t fall off the beam, or one swimmer out-touches another. I know a lot of people would disagree with me. But my blood pressure is thankful for the time lag.

I’ve been to London three times, so it’s great to see all of these venues and have a sense of where they are and my personal experiences at them. My friend, Chloe, is also attending some of the events so it’s fun to watch and know she’s in the crowd.

 

Leave a Reply

