He’s moved…

P1050345

So did you know that JP2 has moved?  When I got back people asked me if I had been in the crypt at the Vatican.  Nope.  We saw lots of things there, but we didn’t go to the crypt.  But I think recently people have probably gone to the crypt because of Pope John Paul II.  Well, as of about May 1st last year, he’s been moved up to the main sanctuary in St Peter’s Basilica.  It seems he’s on the fast-track to becoming a saint.  I’m not Catholic, so I’m not sure how all of that works.  But apparently there’s another 5 years to wait for that to happen.

While in St Peter’s it’s amazing to see the art and architecture.  It really is an amazing building.  It was very cool to see the dome up close.

P1050362

After going up to the dome I wanted a closer look at the altar area in front.  But at the time it had been closed off.  Only those wanting to go to confession were allowed into that area.  Need-less-to-say that was not going to happen.  The zoom lens on the camera had to work instead.

P1050386

One Response to “He’s moved…”

  1. Margaret Says:

    He was beatified on May 1 last year. I didn’t know he got to move ‘upstairs’ though! Thanks for the scoop. I’m a big fan (of your blog AND J.P.II).


Leave a Reply

