Surprising Exhibit

On day 1 of using our Roma Pass we went to the Musei Capitolini.  I was excited to realize it was the place where I could get pictures with these…

P1050213

During the entire trip, I was seeing things that I had studied in my Art History class in college.  I took the class the last semester of my senior year and loved it.  It was probably my favorite class.  I wonder how things may have changed if I took that one earlier in my college career.  That would be a different post…  One of the pieces we studied was the Dying Gaul.  It was neat to see it in person.

P1050222

The surprising part of this museum was what we had stumbled upon earlier.  It’s a temporary exhibit “Lux in Acarna: The Vatican Secret Archives Reveals Itself.”  There were 100 documents from 12 centuries of history.  You didn’t go through and read the documents.  They were all under glass in low light and had explanations of their significance.  It was very cool to see the signatures of Galileo, Abraham Lincoln, Napoleon, Voltaire, Marie Antoinette, Michelangelo, Bernini, and the list goes on.  One document that caught my attention was particularly ornate with seals on wax hanging below it.  It was the document sent to Pope Clement VII asking for the annulment of the marriage of King Henry VIII to Catherine of Aragon.  If you’ve watched the Tudors, you’re familiar with this story.  If you click on the link to the exhibit and go to the documents page, it’s the one 4th from the right on the top.  Another one of interest was about Martin Luther’s excommunication from the Catholic church.  That document is right below the Henry VIII one if you go to the site.

When you look at all of these documents, it’s crazy to think of how much power the Catholic church had for centuries.  Also, with today’s technology, how many hand written documents are there from our time?  Whatever important documents there are now, they are not all in one place since they happen all over the world.  This really was a unique exhibit and makes me want to know more history.  I’ve never been a history buff.  But when I travel to places with history, then I get interested.  From what I can tell, this is a limited exhibit and will be on view until September of 2012, if you happen to be in Rome.  Even if you’re not traveling to Rome, you might enjoy looking at the Lux in Arcana site.

2 Responses to “Surprising Exhibit”

  1. dkzody Says:

    Your post here makes me think of the work I’ve been doing with just 130 years of history of our church and city. The trajectory of one’s life across time…what do we leave behind for future generations to find? Like you, i’ve never been a history buff, but perhaps it’s my age and what I have seen over the years, that makes me more interested. You will have to share more of your thoughts on this.

  2. What will our story look like in history? | Dkzody's Weblog Says:

    […] Absurdity went to Italy on Spring Break and is now filling us in on her travels. Today’s post made me think of the work I’ve been doing with history. I love this line: I’ve never been a […]


Leave a Reply

