Holiday Traditions

P1050027

Do you know what this is?  If you’re Scandinavian you know.  It’s lefse.  It’s made from potatoes.  You butter it and put some sort of sugar on it.  You roll it up, and eat it.  Is is my imagination, or does every culture have something similar to this?  The Latino culture as tortillas.  Even when I was in Tanzania, there was something similar to this – chipati.  Some sort of flat bread-like thing is present in many cultures.

Yesterday was the first time I had made lefse in several years.  I have an aunt that makes it several times each holiday season.  But for some reason, my family really has to work up the energy to do it.  My parents peeled, boiled and riced 10 pounds of potatoes yesterday morning.  In the afternoon, we put a pretty good dent in what turned out to be, 4 batches of lefse.  My specialty is the frying part.  I used my lefse stick for the first time and I’m pretty good at flipping the things.

We had some relatives over and they all joined in the fun.  It actually is a fun activity to do as a family.  My cousin’s six-year-old son actually was a natural at it.

So, dear reader, I just thought I’d share my Saturday activity with you.  Happy Holidays!

P1050026

One Response to “Holiday Traditions”

  1. dkzody Says:

    Definitely looks like flour tortillas. And I love the idea of anything fried!


Leave a Reply

