Family Time

P1040277

It’s really too bad that what brings people together are weddings and funerals. Yesterday was Steve’s memorial service.

Sunday was the travel day. We all made our way to Kansas City from north, south, east and west. It was a very sad reason to get together, but it was also a joyous celebration. We were all staying at the same hotel. As we arrived, we sort of took over the common area in the lobby. Each traveler, or group of travelers, were greeted with a round of hugs as they came in. This is just how we do it on this side of the family. Lots of hugs. Especially this weekend.

I know I have an awesome family. But it’s always nice to see them and re-connect. All of my aunts and uncles made it and eight out of the ten cousins. I’m having a hard time remembering the last time I saw some of my cousins. I’m sure it has been a few years in some cases and many in at least one other. I don’t know if it’s this way in many families, but even if I weren’t related to these people, I’d want to be!

It was really wonderful to have everyone there. This was probably the toughest funeral I’ve been to. At any second I could have fallen apart into a pool of tears. And if you know anything about me, I’m one of those stoic Norwegians that doesn’t cry in front of anyone.

It will take a long time to “get over” Steve’s death. The thing that is so reassuring is that he’s not in pain any more. He is at peace. And he was ready. He wrote letters to his aunts, uncles, siblings, parents and close friends. Knowing that he had a limited time, he made sure that we all knew how much he cared about us.

One thing Steve taught us from all of this, is that we all need to live life to the fullest. No matter how bad you think your hand is, it could always be worse. Make the most of what you’ve got and try to look on the bright side and create your own happiness.

2 Responses to “Family Time”

  1. Kaelin Spletstoser Says:

    This is just what I needed to read today. Thanks, Lori!

  2. dkzody Says:

    I think about those who have been devastated by tornados and earthquakes and wars, and I know that each person would love to have “normal” back. Just a normal day, doing things, in a normal way. Every day, I thank God for my normal. I have a hunch you are too.


Leave a Reply

