My Latest Read

I tried to read this series a few years ago.  For some reason I just wasn’t able to get into the first book.  I put it on the shelf and went on to reading other things.  In August, I tried my luck again.  I’ve been reading the series ever since.  I just finished the last one about a week ago.  Now I’m going through withdrawal.  Even though I borrowed most of the books from a friend, I know I’ll want to read them again and again.  Which series is this?  Why, Harry Potter of course!

I have thoroughly enjoyed each book.  The amount of detail and creativity is fantastic.  I had already seen the movies, but it’s fun watching them after reading the books.

I wish I could wave a wand like Dumbledore and my house would be cleaned.  I would love to have Hermione’s beaded bag.  Just think, I could travel with everything I want and only carry a little bag!  That little time changer thing would be helpful too.

When I first started school I talked to my students about Harry Potter.  If they hadn’t heard of Dementors I explained that they were the guards of the wizard prison, Azkaban.  They suck all of the joy, hope and life out of you.  You know people like that right?  Bad attitude, always negative, real downers.  So the message?  Don’t be a Dementor!

With all of the latest teacher bashing and talk of teacher evaluation you can’t help but think of Delores Umbridge?  Drive by evaluation with a gotcha form?  I bet that any of my educator readers can relate.

So like many others, I too am looking forward to the release of the final two movies.  I’m curious where they’ll make the split for the seventh book.  I’ve never seen a Harry Potter film in a theater.  But I’m definitely ready!

 

Leave a Reply

