Throw, throw, throw…

Since I don’t have a big trip planned this summer I gave myself a project.  Get rid of the crap that I’ve accumulated over the years. I’ve made lists of each area (bookcase, shelf, desk, etc) that I need to go through.  Cleaning off one area often results in the start of another.

I started with my computer desk on Sunday.  I figured I could do that while watching the World Cup game.  [Yea Spain!]  I’m actually amazed at how clear and clean the computer desk is.  When I open the desk doors it’s rather calming and nice now.  Interesting how that works, huh?

I had a few things to file after clearing the computer desk.  That led me into my bedroom where I keep accordion files of each years’ receipts, tax files, etc.  So now I’m onto that bookshelf.  This leads me to clearing off and organizing books which leads me to the big bookcase.  And the cycle continues.  I have the time to do it.  So that’s fine.  It needs to be done.  But I have a few questions, dear reader.

Are there any hard and fast organization tips you have?  When going through my closet the question seems to be: Have I worn this in the last year?  Are there questions like that I should be asking myself in other areas?  I’m finding lots of fun stuff…  owner’s manuals from past cameras, cell phones, iPod, CD players…  Teachers out there: What do you do with old texts that you don’t intend to ever use for reference?  I found my Teaching Portfolio from when I got my job (in 1997).  It doesn’t feel like something I should throw, but then again, what is the point of keeping it?  Any suggestions you have would be greatly appreciated.

4 Responses to “Throw, throw, throw…”

  1. dkzody Says:

    I am not a sentimentalist. I throw away everything that does not have a purpose, or that I don’t use. My husband, on the other hand, keeps everything. We are an odd couple.

    During the last full week of school, I saw the school psychologist walking out of my hallway.
    “So, are you having trouble getting rid of things, she asked.
    “Nope. I started throwing things away at the beginning of the school year, and now I’m down to one drawer.”
    “Smart woman,” was her reply.

    And that’s how I felt as I finished off the task. I didn’t burden our janitorial staff as others have in the past by waiting until the very end to throw things away. I knew what was there and had to be tossed and the few things that I wanted to take with me. I got those out little by little so I never had a big load. I gave away all the posters and toys to my students before they left. I had a few bidding wars–best grades got first pick.

    As for home, I’ve been brutal here too. I boxed and gave away around 500 books over the past two summers. Bags of clothes have gone to the thrift store at our church. Many items I put on Facebook and gave away to friends. There are still many more to give away, one way or the other. I have cartons of Christmas decorations.

    I have this storage unit where I have taken boxes of journals and photo albums, trying to rid the house of personal clutter in case we let some one live here while we are in San Francisco.

    So, does this help any? Or are you still in a conundrum?

    • certainabsurdity Says:

      Very straightforward. Your process makes total sense. My problem is that I’ve let it accumulate for far too long. A lot of what I have to do is just making sure everything has a place and getting it where it’s supposed to be. I go through my closet more often and donate lots of stuff. I made some pretty good headway tonight. We’ll see how long this takes me…. 😉

  2. Sharkey Says:

    I find it works well to start with the areas where things go to die. In our house, that’s the basement. Things are easier to part with if you’ve forgotten you have them! Also, if we start there, we have more space for the things that will ultimately make their way down there when we move on to the next room. (Do not ask me how long it’s been since we cleaned our basement!)

    Sometimes things just have to age sufficiently before you can get rid of them, you know?

  3. dkzody Says:

    Oh, and one more thing I forgot to mention: every time I buy something new, something old must leave. Sometimes I even make myself get rid of 2 somethings for 1 new. That makes me really think before I buy an item. What can I part with?


Leave a Reply

