Peace of Mind

When I took my little vacation to Cancun I had one major thing I was worried about. The sun. If you’re a regular to this blog, you know that I’ve been dealing with skin cancer during the last year. I knew I’d be able to find places in the shade. But with how easily I can burn, I needed more than just a few bottles of sunblock.

Back in April I bought my first rashguard shirt. I got mine at Title Nine Sports and there’s a link to the shirt here. I wasn’t sure how I would like it. But I knew I needed to have one. Besides protecting me from the sun, it gave me something else – peace of mind. I could go into the water, out on the beach, over to the pool bar, or anywhere with no worries. I was also able to see my pale-faced counterparts getting burned and know that I would not have a future of aloe and pain.

At first I was concerned that I would be hot. That wasn’t an issue at all. Once you get in the water and get it wet, it takes a while for it to dry, so you have this nice layer of coolness covering you. This rashie doesn’t have a higher neck, so I made sure to slather on the sunscreen there. Because I was wearing a hat, my neck was mostly shaded anyway. I was also worried that it would get dirty because it is white. Well, guess what? White reflects the sun. Better that than the opposite.

Since I now have some experience with rashguards, I figure I’d offer my 2 cents to anyone in the market for one.

1) Rashguards are worth the money. It protected me from the sun and kept me cool.

2) Get a light color. You definitely want to reflect the sun when you are in a hot climate. If you’re in a cool climate, that’s another story.

3) My personal preference is for a lower neckline vs a crew neck.

I recently saw some by the same company being sold at REI. It is the same as mine but with a different design. Same price too.

So if you were ever wondering about these funny shirts that more and more pale-faces seem to be wearing, hopefully my thoughts are helpful.

One Response to “Peace of Mind”

  1. dkzody Says:

    Thanks for the education. I’ve never heard of these shirts.


Leave a Reply

