Grand

Last week was our Spring Break. I didn’t leave for the entire break, but I did flee to Arizona for five days. If you know anything about me, it’s that I like to travel. I suppose “like” isn’t really a strong enough word for it.

Speaking of words that are or are not strong enough… One of the highlights of the trip was going to the Grand Canyon. I can see why they call it the Grand Canyon. But I also felt like it wasn’t quite enough for this magnificent sight.
P1020716

I’ve had some pretty extensive travels and seen many beautiful sights, but I really don’t know what can compare to this. The fjords of Norway and New Zealand, the white sand and turquoise waters of Zanzibar, the verdant hills of Ireland, vineyards of France, Machhu Picchu in Peru, and the list goes on… I’ve seen many beautiful places. But I don’t know if I’ve ever been so awestruck. The canyon is truly amazing and I feel like I only saw a fraction of it.

We had planned to do a little hiking. In order to go all the way to the bottom, you have to plan 13 months in advance. We hiked the Bright Angel trail a little more than two miles down and then back up. It was a very nice starter hike for the canyon. I can’t imagine doing it when it’s hot. It was only in the low 40s when we were hiking and that was perfect. I’d love to do the hike all the way down and back up. The part that kind of freaks me out is the fact that the easy part is first. I’ve always hiked the hard part first.

So for my first trip to the Grand Canyon, I had a wonderful time. It is truly a natural wonder of the world. I highly recommend a visit!

Leave a Reply

