Liar, Liar, Pants on Fire…

When you know their lying, what is the appropriate response?  And what about the fact that they’re so good at it, they believe their lies?  I bet many could pass a lie detector test.  If they honestly believe their lies, how would you detect it?

Yeah, sure… Your dad is calling you right now from Liberia.

What?  You were at your Grandma’s funeral?  So why was your brother in school all day? Later the story changed to being gone because she has liver cancer (what she told a sub).

I always want to say, “Do I look stupid?” But of course, with kids these days, they’d probably say “yes.”  What happens when you call them on their lie and it’s actually true?  Because that would truly be horrible, we dance around the lies.  Sometimes I have a chance to follow-up and check out the facts.  Most of the time, I really don’t care.  But when you don’t catch them in the lie, they think that it’s ok.  I really don’t have time to be the lie police.

When you think about the implications of this culture of lying, it’s rather scary.  I have already dealt with kids that don’t think that copying is cheating.  They don’t think that there’s anything wrong with cheating copying.  Why do you care?, they ask me. If it doesn’t affect you, what does it matter?

Excuse me if I think right and wrong are important concepts.

Leave a Reply

«

»
