Back Home

Dear Reader,

If you have been looking for me during the past 3 weeks, I’ve been on an amazing adventure in Tanzania. I’ve had many of those experiences that words can hardly describe. During the course of the next few weeks, I will do my best and post my thoughts here.

I think any trip to Africa changes you forever. It is so completely different than the U.S. The thing that struck me the most was how wonderful the people are. They are extremely poor, by our standards, but they have more joy than I have ever seen. It really makes me contemplate our value system here. I kept saying to myself that we’re really f***ed up in how we measure success. I’ve seen lots of proof lately that material wealth has nothing to do with how happy you are. I knew it before… this just made it crystal clear.

So I will be writing on a variety of topics. I’m trying to wrap my head around a lot of it still. But I’ll give you some serious, some funny and some informational stories about my trip.

It’s fun to be gone, but it is always nice to come home. Thoughts on Tanzania will be coming soon.

🙂

2 Responses to “Back Home”

  1. Sharkey Says:

    Welcome home! I’m glad you had such a great trip, and I’ve been enjoying your FB posts. Looking forward to more!

  2. dkzody Says:

    Welcome back…just in time for school? We are in week 2 already.

    I have two friends who just returned from 6 weeks in NIgeria, working for an aids clinic. They are like you, impressed with the people. I think one of the gals may be thinking seriously of moving there. She has gone 3 times, and each time returns even more excited than the last. Do you feel a similar pull?


Leave a Reply

