Student Resources

A lot of the time we think of ourselves as resources for our students. Them being a resource for us is something that doesn’t necessarily occur to us.

I am in need of some long skirts. In August I will be traveling to Tanzania with some people from my church. In that culture, women wear long skirts. So, it is important for me to have some long skirts – and it will be cooler than pants in a hot climate. I’ve been looking in my regular retail shops for long skirts, but I haven’t found anything that I like.

A few weeks ago I had an idea. The Somali and Muslim girls wear these beautiful skirts every day. Can you see the light bulb turning on in my head? During the lunch time I caught one of them that I had had in class and asked her where I could get skirts like they all wear. She told me the names of some shops. I must have had a confused look on my face so she said that she’d write them down and give me the information that way. Lo and behold, a few days later, she found me and gave me the piece of paper. It has the info for 3 stores and she said that the first one might be tricky because I may need someone that speaks Somali with me.

The answers to some of your questions may be closer than you think. It’s just a matter of asking a few questions. And guess what? They appreciate being asked!

Leave a Reply

