Kill the Survey Monkey

Is it the season for surveys?  In the past couple of weeks I’ve been sent several of them.  The topics include, my administrators, staff development, classroom management and connected counseling – whatever that is…

In every one of these surveys I’m told not to forward the survey because it is linked to my specific email address.  Yet, when I take the survey, it’s anonymous.  Do they honestly think I believe that statement?  Hello?   The best ones are when they tell me that I’ve been randomly selected.  Who is this person whose job is dependent on me doing these surveys?  Don’t they have anything better to do?  How about we do some budget cutting starting right there?

When I do actually take one of these surveys, the answer choices are too narrow and don’t fit my answer.  I know that a survey needs to be written so there are some extremes so you can interpret the data.  But I usually just get frustrated because the answer choices just don’t work.

Even though you really value my opinion and would like my input, I’m sorry Survey Monkey.  You’re going to the cyber black hole known as my trash.

3 Responses to “Kill the Survey Monkey”

  1. dkzody Says:

    From a marketing person, those surveys are a necessary evil. I answer almost all of them because I know somebody is relying on the information.

  2. certainabsurdity Says:

    I went ahead and did the surveys. One was completely pointless. They assume that staff development is planned at the building level, when it’s actually planned at the district level. The entire survey should be thrown out.

  3. dkzody Says:

    A survey is only as good as the person who designed it. And, if they don’t know what they are looking for, then it’s a waste of time. Sometimes I actually contact the surveyor and tell them that if it’s really bad. Most of the time, though, I can figure out what they want to know and give answers appropriately. It’s a marketing thing, and you know how THOSE people are! 😎


Leave a Reply

