My Tech Guru

As I’ve mentioned before, I’m part of the high school technology initiative this year.  We get a MacBook and an LCD projector and we learn to integrate technology into our classrooms.  Part of the program is a personal technology coach.

Today I had a meeting with my tech guru.  There is so much technology and so many cool things that can be done.  Today the guru had found some cool sites for me to use in my math classes and he also showed me a way to use the resources provided by the textbook publisher that are otherwise cumbersome.  I learned more about how to update my school web page and load photos to the math team page and a few other things to play around with.

There are so many possibilities for adding cool things to your lessons.  But the problem is that there is hardly any time to REALLY get it worked out so you can use it effectively.  Teaching isn’t like a job where you have weeks to prepare an hour long presentation.  You get about an hour a day to plan 3 hours worth of presentations.  Plus, you need to get all of the materials, copies, do grading, check with a counselor on a kid,  etc. all done in that time too.  Most of us stay late, work at home or both to stay on top of it all.  I’m not even mentioning all of the new initiatives that are handed down and making sure you teach everything so you keep up with NCLB…

I’m not sure how this post morphed into something about teacher workload.  But while I’m on the topic… What do you think is an ideal teacher workload?  It seems to be getting larger and larger every year and with the current economic situation I don’t see it getting any better.  At some point we’ll all hit the breaking point.  I’m afraid it may be sooner than later…

3 Responses to “My Tech Guru”

  1. Sharkey Says:

    I don’t think it’s just teachers who feel overworked and overwhelmed. With the layoffs at so many companies recently, I think everyone is feeling that strain. We can only do what we can do.

    Remember all the hours we worked at our former employer? When I left that job, I vowed I would never get into that situation again. I imagine it’s tougher when you’re working with kids though.

  2. Sharkey Says:

    You’ve probably seen this before, but I thought of you when I read it so I had to come back and post the link. Absolutely the Best Dentist

  3. certainabsurdity Says:

    Follow the link above to the “Best Dentist” post. It hits the nail right on the head.

    Thanks Sharkey- I had seen that before, but had forgotten about it. 🙂


Leave a Reply

