Gift

P1000916

As a high school teacher, I never expect to get any gifts from my students. Especially working in a low income area, you really don’t expect anything. So when you do get a gift it is very special.

Friday was our last day before our two week break. I actually was fairly productive with my students. I gave quizzes in all of my classes and was able to correct them. I didn’t get any whining about the quizzes because the result was that they had no homework.

When I got to my last class, one of my students gave me a card and another gave me a tin of cookies and another package. I didn’t open the package until I got home. It was a book – one from an Oprah book club selection. I also opened the cookie tin to see what was inside. It was so nice to get this little gift.  The best gifts seem to be the ones that are unexpected.

2 Responses to “Gift”

  1. dkzody Says:

    What a lovely gift. The green wreath looks like a miniature version of one my student brought for a Christmas party. Made with frosted flakes?

  2. certainabsurdity Says:

    I was thinking that it was corn flakes, but now that you mention it, it was probably frosted flakes. I just know that it was yummy!


Leave a Reply

