W-W-O-D?

A few days ago, I wrote about (here) the excitement in the building.  It was all about the election.  The overwhelming majority of the kids were Obama supporters.  They were so excited on election day and the day after.  It’s the most interest I’ve seen in an election in my 12 years of teaching.

What I do wonder is, if the excitement can carry over.  I’m not going to try to be all politically correct here.  They were excited that an African American will be the President of the United States.  A minority won.  Someone who looks like them.  Someone who is bi-racial, like so many of them.

So now I have a new question for them.  Even though the election is over, we still have a long way to go.  Barack Obama has stressed throughout his campaign that we each have responsibilities as Americans.  What Would Obama Do?  What would Barack Obama want you to do?  He would want you to take advantage of your education.  He would want you to try your hardest and not give up.  It is your responsibility to become educated so you can contribute to society.  Are you setting your goals high enough?  Because guess what?  The sky’s the limit!

** I’m not intending to imply any us vs them mentality.  I’m just a white lady teaching a lot of non-white kids.  I’m just as excited as they are about Obama.

One Response to “W-W-O-D?”

  1. dkzody Says:

    My students also showed great interest in the election, most of them wearing their Obama shirts to school either election day or the day after. When I asked about the mayoral election, for our own town, none of them even knew who won, nor did they care. I was blown away because a young Hispanic man, whose brother attends our school, was running against a white woman who lives in the rich part of town and went to a private high school. Nope, didn’t matter to them.


Leave a Reply

