Finally – A Perk to Teaching!

I just got the email saying that I was accepted to the High School Technology Initiative for next year’s school year. Why is this exciting? Two words: Free Laptop.

Of course there are strings attached. That’s expected. But it all fits into the realm of learning about the laptop and how to integrate technology into your classroom. You also have to keep up something similar to a website throughout the year. If I can keep up with this blog, I’m sure I can keep up a website. There are various classes/workshops to go to also. All in all, it’s a pretty darned good deal. Plus, I need to spruce up my teaching anyway.

Does this mean that I’ll have to figure out the wireless thing in my home? I just barely got DSL!

3 Responses to “Finally – A Perk to Teaching!”

  1. Sharkey Says:

    Wireless is awesome. Most nights, JP and I sit here on the couch with our respective laptops in our laps. So will you get to get a Mac?

    FYI–I’ll be in MN for about two weeks starting on 6/13. Catherine’s surgery is scheduled for the 19th.

  2. dkzody Says:

    Congratulations. If you do get a choice, get a MAC. I love my laptop, and just like your friend, I sit here on the couch, using my laptop in the evenings while the news is on.

  3. certainabsurdity Says:

    I think it’s a Mac Book. It’s definitely a Mac of some kind. They wait until July to buy them so it’s the “latest and greatest”. Though I’m pretty sure it’s not the really thin ones.


Leave a Reply

