Teflon Teacher

That’s my new mindset for the rest of the year. I’m the Teflon Teacher. None of the whiny comments are going to stick to me. I’m not taking the blame for their grades either. With 15 student contact days remaining, the shit is fast approaching the fan. For some, it’s still a little too soon for it to actually hit the fan. They wait until the very end.

The kid that thinks that it’s my fault that he doesn’t get it does not get to have his little blame game affect me. He’s been gone for 10 days and he has this affliction known as senioritis. I’m sorry that you’re too lazy to get out of bed and that makes you late for school and therefore you miss my class. Bummer for you. Do you do your homework? Do you put forth some effort outside of class? Oh, was that a “no” to both of those questions? Darn. Then I guess the grade you’re getting is the grade you deserve.

What? You can’t get a D? Well, guess what? You do D work and that’s what you’ve earned. Yes, you’re a nice kid. But “nice” does not equal an “A” when you’re missing 5 assignments and have a D average on your tests. Sorry, welcome to the real world.

How did we get into this mess where we’ve sugar coated everything? Can they handle the truth? If the only way they can handle it is to blame someone else for their shortcomings, then I don’t think that they can. Some are going to have a pretty rude awakening very soon.

I know that I put forth great effort into teaching them. I’m prepared each day. I help them after school. I show them by example, what is good work and what is not. They know. And if they don’t by now, they get what they deserve. I don’t necessarily make it easy to get an A. But I do make it easy enough, so if they put forth effort and have a decent attitude, they should be able to pass.

So if they try to blame me for their problems, I’m thinking of one word. Teflon. None of that crap is going to stick to me.

4 Responses to “Teflon Teacher”

  1. dkzody Says:

    I handed back book reports to seniors on Monday. These are reports on business books, all of which I have read, some more than once, so I know them very well. One of the students complained that I had written more on his paper than he had written. “Yes, pretty sad when I am doing more work than you are, and I don’t need to graduate from high school.”

  2. certainabsurdity Says:

    You rock! That’s a great story.

  3. dkzody Says:

    Years ago, when our daughter was going through school, she would lament about doing something and I would make my famous quote, “I graduated from high school, you can too.” Then, when she got her masters, she looked me in the eye, and said, “ok, mom, what are you going to say now?” “congratulations to a girl who is smarter than both of her parents put together!”

    And that is what I want for all of my students.

  4. reeyah Says:

    Teflon Teacher… love it! =)


Leave a Reply

