Community Education

Over the last year I’ve made a point to take some community education classes. It’s a great way to learn new things and doesn’t cost much. So far I’ve only tried out the cooking classes. I’ve learned how to make Sushi, Appetizers, Chicken and More Chicken, Chocolate Truffles, Thai Food and I’ll learn about Soups on Tuesday this week.

The Sushi class was cool. But I decided that it’s worth it to go to a restaurant. It’s just too putzy for me – and I completely suck at rolling it. The Appetizer class was fun because we made about 20 different ones and got to try them all. The Chicken class was a lot of chicken in one night. I had chicken to eat for the whole week. But it gave me ideas on how to cook it and I’m not afraid to try my own thing. The Truffle class was great! Making chocolate truffles is not that hard and I could give them away as gifts. I haven’t tried to make any of the Thai food yet. But I learned about using lemon grass, chili peppers, curry paste and a bunch of other stuff. The soup class should be good, but we’re getting out of the soup season. We’ll see how that goes…

The new catalog came out this past week. I’m trying something new this time. Don’t laugh. Belly Dancing. My massage therapist recommended trying it for shoulder movement. I’ve been wanting to take a dance class, but had never thought of belly dancing. I guess this solves the problem of not having a partner… 😉 A friend of mine took it a few years ago and liked it. But she also said to watch out because I might have the same problem as her… moving like a white woman. I probably will. But it will definitely be interesting!

One Response to “Community Education”

  1. Norris Hall Says:

    Don’t know if you’ve seen this already but if not Yu might be interested in this website.
    http://www.thaifoodtonight.com
    It’s got about 30 recipes each one with a cooking video to go along
    Good if you like to try cooking Thai food at home


Leave a Reply

