Solo

There are lots of perks to being single. I remind myself of these perks on a regular basis. What are they? Hmm… Let’s see… Not in any particular order…

1. I make my own decisions. No one tells me what to do.

2. I can sprawl out on my bed like a snow angel.

3. I can press the snooze button as many times as I want.

4. If there’s a mess, it’s mine.

5. No reporting, asking for permission, asking for forgiveness, etc.

6. I can dance, skip, scream, talk to myself (at home) and no one thinks I’m crazy.

7. I’m free as a bird. I can take a trip for weeks as long as I get my neighbors to water my plants occasionally.

8. It’s my money and I can do with it what I please.

9. No negotiations.

10. Peace and quiet.

It’s helpful to make a list like this, even if it is somewhat of a joke. The thing is, I’ve been on lots of dates. Some were good. Lots were not. I’ve used a dating service, tried online, and been set up by friends. I’ve been on almost 20 first dates within the last year (and that’s with taking the summer off). I’ve probably treated dating like looking for a job. But frankly, looking for a job is way easier. Then again, I’ve gotten every job I’ve interviewed for.

There are a lot of people out there looking for someone special. I’m definitely included. But I think that there are a lot of people that get together because they’re looking for someone and sometimes anyone will do. One of the Grey’s Anatomy episodes this season had Meredith talking to a patient saying something like, “It’s better to be alone and feel like a success than be in a relationship and feel like a failure.”

Those are some wise words.

3 Responses to “Solo”

  1. eyeingtenure Says:

    My grandfather always said that while there’s nothing quite as good as a good marriage, and there’s nothing quite as bad as a bad marriage.

    Marriage isn’t quite what you’re talking about, but it’s analogous. I guess.

  2. Sharkey Says:

    Hmmm . . . I’m married, and numbers 3 and 4 still apply to me. I guess I’ve got the best of both worlds. 🙂

  3. peggyluwho Says:

    I have a similar list, and yeah, it’s also a lot of exaggeration, and I totally get it.


Leave a Reply

